18
Jun
10

you dont know your own software?

Its strange world indeed, my company uses a software that’s written by VB6 and runs within Citrix environment.

This software vendor decided to call me up asking for help integrating their software on OTHER customer’s Citrix environment.
Well, as a friendly Citrix dude, I did give him a few pointer but isnt it rather strange for the vendor to call the customer to seek help for other customer’s issue?

Its YOUR own software ppl, if you dont think it runs on Citrix or dont know how to troubleshoot software integration LEARN how to do it, seriously.

I really get frustrated when a developer calls an infrastructure engineer (usually me) saying, “I dont know anything about OS, Network, blah blah, can you fix it ?”
I have spent enough time learning C#, App debugging, network (switch/routing) so I can help myself integrating/debugging the issues I face.

Why is it always someone else’s problem when the problem is escalated to the developer ????

This is like a trend, dev who doesnt know SMTP, IIS, DBMS, firewall, TCP/IP.

or it must be just me working with horrible developers..

0 Responses to “you dont know your own software?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Greyeye Tweets


